Sophie Viaene (Recipient)

the Solvay Institutes honour a VUB or ULB master student in physics with an excellent academic record and an inspiring dissertation. Sophie's dissertation, entitled "Two-Dimensional Transformation Optics: A Guided Tour to Nonmagnetic Flatland Metamaterials", was carried out under supervision of Prof. Dr. Jan Danckaert, Prof. Dr. Philippe Tassin, and Dr. Vincent Ginis. This year, the Robert Brout Prize is awarded for the first time in memory of the Belgian-American physicist Robert Brout (1928-2011). Although Robert Brout was an all-round physicist, he is most renowned for his contribution to particle physics. Together with his companion in science, François Englert, Brout introduced a consistent mechanism to explain why bosonic particles have mass. François Englert and Peter Higgs received the 2013 Nobel Prize in physics after the discovery of the Brout-Englert-Higgs particle at the Large Hadron Collider in CERN.
Awarded date12 Dec 2014
Granting OrganisationsInternational Solvay Institutes (IFFC-Solvay)

ID: 33244472